Saturday, November 22, 2008

The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, one of the finest in the world, is offering free downloads of 10 great symphonies to celebrate its 120th anniversary.

Registration is required, but I just plugged in a bunch of phony info & that worked fine.

The kicker is that the symphonies will only remain online until the 24th of November (this coming Monday) - so you gotta act quick!

The recordings feature world-class conductors such as Bernard Haitink, Riccardo Chailly and Mariss Janson - so these are top notch performances.

The symphonies available for download are:

Franz Schubert - Symphony no. 8 ‘Unfinished’
Ludwig van Beethoven - Symphony no. 2
Felix Mendelssohn - Symphony no. 4 ‘Italian’
César Franck - Symphony in D minor
Gustav Mahler - Symphony no. 1
Antonin Dvorák - Symphony no. 8
Camille Saint-Saëns - Symphony no. 3 ‘Organ’
Jean Sibelius - Symphony no. 2
Anton Bruckner - Symphony no. 8
Johannes Brahms - Symphony no. 2